Busted Foglights & Foster Dogs – Scott Oslin in Focus

What do I do outside of TAD?

This is one of those biographical take-stock-of-the-backroom type of assignments. I spend so much time managing the front end of ‘Scott Oslin Writes and Plays Video Games and Walks His Dog Sometimes’ LLC that I don’t think much about what happens when no one’s looking. I’m more of a motivated by the prompt kind of writer, less of a self-directed one; except when I’m on a bus. I have a lot of poems about people on busses.

When I’m not writing for TAD, I love to binge watch Netflix or Hulu (when the service actually cooperates), like any typical undergrad student. I also spend a lot of time with my aforementioned dog; she’s a 7 year old cocker spaniel mutt named Marley (Also known as Marmar, Marmoo, or simply The Doge). My family saved her from a shelter when I was in high school, and she’s been by my side ever since.

As its co-president, I head up JMU’s only student-run writing organization, Word is Born Writer’s Society. We’re a collective that hosts workshops and share nights weekly to dowse for the creative juices under all that academia. It’s my lifeboat in rocky waters; helping fellow students bloom their writing upward and outward invigorates me. I’ve been with the club for three and a half years, and when JMU talks about ‘Being the Change,’ that’s what I envision most fondly. I’ve gotten to watch countless young poets go from slouchingly shy in corners to courageously spry on stage. To say that I’m lucky to be around so much talent is a massive understatement.

I’m also a huge gamer. Pokemon and Fire Emblem on my 3DS, and all sorts of Japanese Role-Playing Games on my PS3 keep me entertained. I’m a sucker for a well-told story or an interesting card game, too. It’s what’s kept me so invested in the YuGiOh franchise for so long, though I’m always trying to expand my video game catalog.

A constantly indecisive sparkfire, like this blogpost, I’m always looking for new things to talk about, do, or learn. I want to outgrow my horizons every day, whether its in making new chainmaille jewelry, finding more cheap DIY decoration ideas, spending hours on the Wikis for my favorite media, or just writing something down instead of letting little moments be forgotten.

Fun fact – I ran my car into a river the Tuesday before Christmas this year, to the blaring sound of Taylor Swift’s “Blank Space.”

(As my mom likes to say, I was extremely lucky. Marley and I got out with nary a scratch and the car’s only missing a fog light and an undercarriage!)

Ever since then, I guess you could say I’m determined not to leave mine empty.

One thought on “Busted Foglights & Foster Dogs – Scott Oslin in Focus”

Leave a Reply

