My Life in a Nutshell

By Elaina Taylor

Nothing stumps me more than having to write about myself, and this blog post is no exception. And to describe my life outside of TAD is to exclude one of the best parts of my days. But, I shall try.

I am the last one of my fellow writers to cover this topic, so this means I have already read and edited everyone else’s scintillating summaries of their lives. And goodness does mine seem ridiculously boring in comparison! Granted, I am only a sophomore, so I still have time to get involved in clubs and orgs on campus. I’m thinking about the Latin Dance Club…but that’s a thought for another time.

Outside of classes, I live in one of three places: my dorm room, the library, or the TAD office. I always seem to be zooming around completing various tasks, running errands, studying for tests, writing papers, and on and on, late like usual. I’ve also just recently been initiated as a brother into the professional pre-law fraternity Phi Alpha Delta (PAD), and am on the professional development committee, so I predict my schedule will become even more hectic as a result. (I also fully expect my friends to get TAD and PAD mixed up now.)

Spare time finds me either hunched over a book, eyes bleary and sleep deprived, or watching my favorite shows on Netflix. That is of course, if my friends and I haven’t cooked up a plan for evening events, which most likely includes crazy antics of some sort. I will not elaborate on the crazy antics; question me further and I will plead the fifth. Every weekend seems to just roll in, carrying with it new, unexpected adventures. But with a heavy course and workload, I have had less and less time to read books, which is one of my favorite hobbies. I am a voracious reader, and still try to edge in a book or two here and there.

Sadly the lack of a car prevents me from reveling in another favorite pastime – hiking. I have a yearlong pass for the Shenandoah National Park, which I don’t get to use very often. It is a rare and wonderful occasion when I am able to hike, and always manages to calm my mind. Most of the time I will instead be at UREC climbing the rock wall, or taking a dance class like Hip Hop or World Beat (which I highly recommend by the way!) I’ve discovered dancing is one of the best things for the soul.

And what would be a description of a college kid’s free time without mentioning social media? I use twitter only sparingly now, a fact I am proud of, but every day without fail I check Facebook for the newest posts on my favorite page, Humans of New York. Photographer Brandon Stanton goes around taking pictures of random people and including little quotes from them that always manage to touch my heart. I enjoy his snapshots of humanity immensely and sometimes cry or laugh out loud in public from the posts I read on the page.

Sadly, there are never enough hours in the day to accomplish all I set out to do, but here in a nutshell is what I consistently manage to make time for. Now I just have to see about that Latin Dance Club…